Skip to content

And now for something completely different: Seoni 1

July 17, 2013

By now you know the format, right? You expect me to tell you what time I woke up, what I had for breakfast, what I discussed with Pradeep and anything else notable that happened to me.

I could do that, sure. For the last two days I was in Seoni, a smaller city ten hour bus ride north from Bhopal. I visited different pieces of OASiS’s rural education pilot project (taking place in villages on the outskirts of Seoni), guided by the team of inspiring people who are making it all happen. Pradeep goes up once a month to check in, mentor and disagree with them. We stayed in the family home of one of the project leaders, Gaurav. We had excellent food every day.

I could say all that and it would be accurate, but it would not be the truth.

“Oh, now you’re just being silly.”

No, seriously. My head unhinged a little bit from all that was new. It was the same feeling as when I came off the airplane in Delhi. Everything was important. Everything was beautiful and worthy of attention.

What I want to do is pull out a few of these moments and share them with you, because I found that the same lessons showed themselves to me over and over again in different ways. I’ll try to separate them into smaller posts because I can already tell that this is going to be longer than usual and I don’t want to overwhelm you!

Oh yes, and pictures. I have pictures!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

