Skip to content

Greed and need: Seoni 6

July 17, 2013

Pradeep and the Agrini guys had a discussion about genetically modified seeds and on the bus ride home I picked it up with him. For a while we debated about the science of it. I am much more ambivalent to the whole idea than he is. I see it as fast forwarding a process that already happens naturally. There are definitely higher risks, but in times of crisis it can seem appealing. In my mind it is like a making change through a democracy compared to a dictatorship. Things might happen faster but they could also be horrific. Again, short and long term pressures are at play.

Pradeep took the conversation somewhere else. “Why do we need these GMOs in the first place? There is already enough food in the world to support everyone’s needs.” Needs. Not wants, needs. We talked about greed among people, a force that deforms and misshapes and causes all sorts of problems. “I have been thinking about this for a while. Especially in my last job, where I was making so much and staying in all these luxury hotels. I knew there had to be a different way to do things. And all you can do is prove it with your own life, so I have tried. And I have found such satisfaction.”

I nodded. I knew. It was one of the profound things I think I have learned here. I had expected a life of sacrifice to be a drain. I had expected to come here and see that the Ghoshes were only pulling themselves through by sheer force of will and the strength of their characters. They have that, don’t get me wrong. They work hard and are made of strong stuff but they also enjoy their lives. It gives me hope that I will be able to do the same. To step away from chasing for “more” and instead search for “enough”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

