Skip to content

Minerva Week 6: Gratitude

October 14, 2014

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving! Family festivities prevented me from posting any sooner, but I thought you’d want to have a small update of where I am and what I am doing.

Pretty much what my thanksgiving dinners looked like, minus the marginalized indigenous people. (Credit: Wikimedia Commons)

I put the “mobile” element of Minerva’s platform to the test by logging in from another country. Google Chrome became incompatible with our software for a little while, so we had to switch to the Canary version of the software (the name reminds me of Canaries in coal mines, but this browser was not ominous at all!). The tech issues were universal, not me-specific, which was heartening. It’s interesting – while I was at Minerva and able to connect with people in three-dimensional space, I found the classroom environment to be very artificial and draining. Now that I am at home, in a different environment, I find myself really connecting to people through the videos and have not been as drained once I finished the classes. An peculiar observation – we’ll see if it repeats next week.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 1.30.29 PM

Some monkey-business involving infinite regression in a class a few weeks ago.

This past week, I learned about evaluating sources, eyewitness testimony, basic statistics and the relative merits ancient historians. The class topics and content seem to be becoming increasingly rich. I am feeling gratitude for this opportunity to learn, untethered by geography. It doesn’t mean I don’t miss SF (I do!) or that I won’t miss home when I leave (I will!), but I am feeling a wonderful kind of lightness right now.

I am preparing for a weekend conference about the future of higher education: Towards the Second University Millennium. It promises to be fantastic. I’ll tell you all about it when it happens, I promise. Till then, take care (I need to follow my own advice – currently fighting a cold.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

