Skip to content

Minerva Week 16: Riotous Colour

January 26, 2015

I am back!

My first view of the city reminded me of how insidiously grey my last few weeks have been. In the space of a day, I went from a subdued landscape to one wild with pastel colour and warm with sun. It is a tale best told with pictures.

My morning:

Well, this is a picture of Atlanta, but squint and you would totally think it was Toronto!

My afternoon:

IMG_2960 IMG_2961

My bags accompanied me on the cable car ride up the hill to my beautiful home. I couldn’t resist the chance to indulge in a little practical tourism (there was no way I was dragging my bag up that hill!).

Pastel houses courtesy of the SF Citizen

So, I am back in the land of sunshine, 8 lb bags of locally-grown oranges, rolling hills and quirkiness. Here’s to the term to come! San Francisco, I didn’t even realize how much I had missed you!

I feel so privileged to be able to travel thousands of miles in a day. It does a mind good. I can see (well, see is probably a strong word) a gleam of newness shining from everything. It was the same when I came back to Toronto. It is good to be reminded of the things you dismiss. In a few weeks, the sunshine and colour will seem less bright. I will take it for granted and settle in. There is a beauty to that as well, here’s to enjoying this feeling while it lasts. Take care! I promise a more coherent post next week… about ROBOT BUILDING!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2015 4:16 am

    Welcome back to San Francisco! I’m looking forward to following your blog every day, or every week!!!??

Leave a Reply

